Tree Tops, Monkeys and One Banana

MH900227749

Thoughts in my head, like five monkeys with one banana* –
the damn family tree. The mind is the first to go
when one goes insane. Hah! …redundancy

was my thing until I “got me some pills to pop.”
Neurons, neurons, go away!  Come again some other day.
Their over-excitability’s a real drag at times, but no longer

or at least not mostly, like before when
I used to put pen to paper five times a week at least
(again, at least)…and now it is the very least

activity in my life because the neurons and their neurons
don’t come out to play. Maybe it’s the 105 degree heat
or summer camps and swimming pools. (I don’t remember

the excuses this past winter and spring.) Matters not!
I can breathe! I can breathe! I can breathe!

And I no longer need the sweet scent of tree pulp
to open airways constricted by yesterday’s dust.

But then again, I am a bit of a tree hugger…and underneath
the bark lies rings and rings arranged in a downward spiral
like the rabbit hole I know too well.

*a borrowed metaphor…thanks, B.

Can’t believe I am visiting d’Verse tonight. I’m so excited!

7 thoughts on “Tree Tops, Monkeys and One Banana

  1. haha….fun…hey i love chasing the rings on trees….this was fun and i am glad you found freedom as well…and can breathe…there is peace…five monkeys & one banana eh? smiles…its always great to see you sheila…if you could see my smile….

  2. I enjoyed this, Sheila. The desire to write indeed does come and go. Sometimes it’s a priority and sometimes on the back burner; but even when it is on the back burner one knows that writing will come when it will. I am glad to see you in dVerse. And I know what you mean about the monkeys and one banana. Smile!

  3. lies rings and rings arranged
    in a downward spiral
    like the rabbit hole I know too well.

    For all the depressive mood preceding there is always that silver lining at the end of the day! Nicely Sheila!

    Hank

Thanks for sharing.

