A Little Explanation

“To one who has faith, no explanation is necessary.
To one without faith, no explanation is possible.”
~ St. Thomas Aquinas

st. thomas aquinas

No longer dwelling in past or future;
to write of either is to murder Now,
and I am no killer!

I want to live in Eternity –
that timeless presence
where egoic mind has no place;

where there are no places
of spaces and time. You see,

when I write I think,
and when I think I
categorize, and when I categorize
I suffocate in small boxes

like rodents being carried home from
pet stores – transfers from cage to cage.

I wish I could tell you
more, but it is something
you have to experience
for yourself.

Pause.

The flutter inside of your heart –
the one that is cautiously, yet excitedly,
saying “Yes!” –
that is a good start.

5 thoughts on “A Little Explanation

  1. murdering “now” is just such an easy thing to do. it’s a shame really how often we allow what came before and what has yet to come sour the taste of being in the moment. lovely.

  2. yes is a good start…and i agree in that it is easy to kill the now either seeking the next, or stuck in the past…also the compartmentalizing…i feel you there sheila…

  3. So very true about murdering the now. Sometimes I think we do this more consistently than we live in the now. I also identify with the part about when you write you think, when you think you put things in small boxes….so true as well.

Thanks for sharing.

